The Church of Phaulkon

The Guardian of the Skies
"May the Wind be ever at your back."

Phaulkon's Ethos

Phaulkon is the human chaotic-good to neutral-good god of weather and the sky. A significant number of cloud giants are also worshippers of Phaulkon.  The religion teaches that all weather changes, and extrapolated further theologically, everything that happens to worshippers occurs within the divine purpose of Phaulkon.  The main interests of clerics of Phaulkon is generally in astrology, meteorology or other sky-related studies.  A special interest for many clerics is the study of falconry.  Birds are considered to be the messengers of Phaulkon and clerics will care for their birds as one of their own.  The Holy Symbol is a round symbol depicting sun, stars, clouds, mountains, a Church, plains, and water from top to bottom.  This is evidenced in the stained glass window seen at the top of this page, taken from the Temple in Teft. Another Holy Symbol often found in Phaulkonian Temples, especially older ones, depicts a pin-wheel design, with the four seasons arrayed around it (Autumn: orange; Winter: grey; Spring: green; Summer: yellow), revolving on an axis:

Traditional Holy Symbol 

The main theology stresses that goodness is much more important than law or its absence.  Phaulkon's Plan is not considered to be a set of rules which everyone must follow, but rather a set of liberties all worshippers should enjoy.  A special calling is to care for other people and animals, especially birds.  A certain celebratory manner pervades all Phaulkonian ceremonies, as worshippers believe that Phaulkon will raise them after death to be his servants.  As his servants, they will execute his plans for the weather and other changes Telvar-wide, and marvel in the complexity of the Plan.  This is theologically known as the Ascent.

The Church in Telvar

Cooperation with other good religions is an important aspect of the Church.  Also, Phaulkonians have a special connection with Druids and are friends of the Ranger Brotherhood.  It is not unusual for Rangers to be worshippers of Phaulkon.

The main holiday of Phaulkonian worshippers is Lanthalassa-té, lasting seven days from December 28-January 3.  It lasts an extra day every ten years.  Lanthalassa-té celebrates the Plan of Phaulkon and the great Prophet Grien.

Temples are amphitheaters generally circular or ovoid in shape and many ceremonies involve circular or continuity metaphors (i.e. holding hands in a circle, etc.) or the release of pigeons or other birds.  Chapels are indoor or outdoor, but the most important ones are always at points of interesting or unusual weather.

There are several Orders within the Phaulkonian religion, having several more focused aspects.  The first Order is the Common Order.  These are the general Temple-oriented clerics which maintain the records and help sustain the worshippers.  They are the common "priest" of Phaulkon.  All Phaulkonian clerics are consecrated members of the Common Order at their first clerical Lanthalassa-té, though some will continue to join further Orders.

Three lay orders also exist within the Church.  They are the following: The Order of the Golden Plume, The Order of the Common Good, and the Order of Light.  The Order of the Golden Plume is given to a very select group of worshippers and scholars who distinguish themselves in helping the cause of Phaulkon.  The Order of the Common Good is filled by those laymen which help to maintain the integrity of the Church buildings and ceremonies, and assist the clerics in their chosen tasks.  The Order of Light is filled by the ranks of women and men who chose to defend the Church, its Temples, its worshippers, and help to advance the goals of Phaulkon.  The members of this Order would be best described as the Paladins of Phaulkon; these warriors are fanatically good, and just about any class can become a member of the Order, though warriors and woodsmen are the most common.  The official term for the members of the Order of Light is "Warder of Phaulkon."  Those Warders who distinguish themselves to a greater degree, completing at least four (the holy number, relating to the four seasons) Holy Quests, are known as Talons of Phaulkon.

It is obvious to observers that Clerics may not use melee weapons when they fight, but may use any missile weapon.  Other special abilities differentiate them from other non-Phaulkonian clerics.  Their spells are often different from what would be expected from other clerics met in Telvar.

The Past and the Future

Though the Church of Phaulkon was always more powerful and respected in the Old World rather than the New, the Church is on the rise in the New World.  The High Priest in Teft is now a very powerful Church leader, as is the Matriarch of Teft.  Alegra Falconer, High Priestess, is the Sapienter of Tan-El (one of the three Councilors).  The new Observatory and Institute for Sky Studies, funded in large part through Alegra and the Phaulkonian Church, is a significant boon to sages, scholars, and clerics of the Church.  Despite the regrettable loss of the Abbot of the Restinford Abbey in 2175, the Church has gained many converts in recent years and continues to prosper.  Such converts include Warwick, Principal Ranger of Cromwell; Rangorn, Patrol Lieutenant of Tan-El; Frank, Bowyer-Fletcher in Middle; and Drew, former Ranger of the Restinford Defenders.

Holy Quests

Recovering the Windsocks, defeating the Evil of the Dim Forest, the Restoration of the Fane of the Winds, and the Expedition to Old Frosty have all been considered or attempted in recent years.  Examine Warwick's adventures in 1997-1999 for the first two and the Alegra's adventures in 2000 for the Fane quest. 


All pages copyright Kyle Scott MacLea, 1994-2004, excepting works cited by others and artwork, which are copyright of the respective individual.